Home » Training » Training – 4.45 Miles

Training – 4.45 Miles

Running around the Charles River

Running around the Charles River

This morning I woke up around 7:45 and ran to the Charles River in Boston.  The apartment I am staying in is a lot closer to the river than the previous one.  I ran down sidewalks, stopping at lights for less than half a mile before I saw one of the highway overpasses that leads to the river.  These overpasses have steep ramps on either side which makes for some good hill training.  I was surprised  at how easy I was able to run up them.  When I got to the top over the highway I looked out onto the vast river and then to the sidewalks surrounding it. I noticed how many runners there were.  They were everywhere!  Tons and tons of runners enjoying the nice day we were having, running at their own pace.  It’s amazing to be surrounded by so many people enjoying the same activity that I love so much.

Today wasn’t one of my best runs.  By the end I averaged a 9:58 pace per mile making it one of the slowest runs I have had in a long time.  I don’t know if it was because I was running somewhere new, I was tired, or because of how hot it was outside, but I was not feeling my best.  Sometimes you have off days, a day where your times aren’t that great compared to what you usually run or you can’t go as far as you originally wanted to. It happens, but you just have to move on and get back out there the next day!

I ended up running around the river and to the other side.  In the process I ran over multiple bridges and an overpass. Once on the other side I ran down the sidewalk for a bit then decided to turn around and go back the way I came.  On the way back I stopped at a water fountain that I had passed.  When I left in the morning the weather app on my phone said it was 71 degrees out.  It felt a lot hotter than 71 degrees, though not as hot or humid as Florida.  I still felt the need to shoot the water onto my face; it gave me that second wind that I was needing.  My 4.45 mile run ended up being 44 minutes and 23 seconds.  Hopefully I will be able to run further tomorrow.

My work is about .8 miles from the apartment that I am staying in.  Since it is such a long walk I decided to leave my Charity Miles app running.  I need to help out my team.  Go Gryffindor!  On my way to work I passed this:

Boston Marathon finish line

Boston Marathon finish line


That finish line is one of my inspirations and I hope to cross it in a race someday!

3 thoughts on “Training – 4.45 Miles

  1. You mentioned the new experience of the ramps, and the inclines slow you down a bit. I’m amazed at your accomplishments! Thank you for sharing your environment as you run. How long will you be in Boston? I hope you will be there are the season changes….:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

