Home » Training » Cross Training – Yoga

Cross Training – Yoga

wpid-20150812_064731.jpg

I have mentioned the Nike running club before, but Nike does more than just running. The Nike store down the street offers a different class or run each day, so today I decided to go join their yoga class! This class was at 7 am and they want you to be there 30 minutes early so I got up at 6:20 am. I wasn’t as tired as I thought I would be. I actually function better on less sleep.

I didn’t know what to expect at this class since it was held inside of their store. I was kind of worried that I would need my own yoga mat, but that was not the case. When I got to the store there was someone standing there to check us in. I noticed right away all the mats on the floor with their own little bottle of water sitting next to each one. Wow, this is well organized! I moved further into the room among the mats and picked one in the center. I had only been to one yoga class before so I wanted someone in front of me that I could copy if I got lost and I didn’t want to be too far from the instructor. There was plenty of time before the class started, so I sat on my mat and observed what was going on. Everyone seemed to know each other. It felt like a nice community there; too bad I have less than a month left in Boston.

The class started with a sort of Yoga warm up, and by that I mean if felt easy because later on it got a lot harder. There was music playing and the teacher walked around the floor giving out instructions and poses to perform as she corrected our form: a typical yoga class. I was really glad that I had taken a class before. I went to one at the hotel gym last time I was in Boston. That one had less people and it seemed to be catered towards beginners. This one, on the other hand, was more fast-paced. I knew most of the names of the poses, but at times I found myself looking at others to see if I was doing it right.

The entire time there was a guy taking our pictures. This actually happened during the run I snuck into last Saturday as well. I will have to find out where those pictures are posted. In the middle of the class things got a little more difficult. The poses became harder and I was starting to feel it in my legs. My legs even started shaking at one point. I always tried to do the more difficult modifications on the poses, but a couple times I was not able to.

At the end we did some breathing exercises while we laid on our mats to relax. It was the perfect way to end the session because it gave me a bit to reflect on all I did during the class. After that we took a group picture and then everyone went their separate ways. I had to go get ready for work, so I ran the block back to my apartment. It was a great class and I feel that I put in a good workout; I even had sweat dripping off of my head at one point. I can’t wait until next week’s class!

5 thoughts on “Cross Training – Yoga

  1. I love yoga classes!! I especially like the hot yoga classes because they end it with a really cold, wet towel that smells incredible. One of my running buddies here in town is a yoga instructor. Sounds like you had a great class!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

