Home » Boston » The Freedom Trail Run

The Freedom Trail Run

wpid-20150823_111944-1.jpgThe Freedom Trail is a path through downtown Boston that passes by 16 historical landmarks.  When I was here in April, my boyfriend and I walked the entire trail all the way to the Bunker Hill Monument in the freezing cold, and then we had to walk all the way back when we were done; it was a long day.  When I tried to find a local 5k to run in I always came across the Freedom Trail Run so I decided to look into it.  It is just as it sounds, a run along the Freedom Trail, but they also stop at the landmarks along the way.  It is a run and tour all in one!  It sounded like a ton of fun so I signed up for this morning’s run.

The Freedom Trail starts on the East side of Boston Common, which is over a mile from my apartment.  I decided to make that part of my run so I ran all the way there.  When I arrived I was greeted by a nice man who happened to be one of the tour guides.  I signed in and then talked to some fellow Freedom Trail Runners.  Most of them were visiting Boston and thought this would be a fun tour to accomplish on their trip; I completely agreed!  What could be better than running, sight-seeing and history!

Before we started running one of our three tour guides talked to us a little about the Freedom Trail, and gave us some history and interesting facts.  After that we began running!  I had my Nike app running and would pause it when we stopped somewhere so I could map out where we had been and see how fast we were traveling.  The first couple stops were cemeteries, one of which had the final resting places of Paul Revere, John Hancock, and Samuel Adams.

wpid-20150823_090944.jpg

Old State House

Tour Guide on Boston Massacre Site

Tour Guide on Boston Massacre Site

We visited many places including:  The Massachusetts State House, Park Street Church, Granary Burying Ground, King’s Chapel Burying Ground, Old South Meeting House, The Site of the Boston Massacre, Faneuil Hall, Paul Revere’s House, Old North Church, The Bunker Hill Monument, and The USS Constitution.  Each time we stopped it was for a couple minutes or so while one of the tour guides told us facts about the area or landmark we were at.  As someone who loves learning about history, this stuff was very interesting to me!

11893930_931294056908639_7415106562791424140_oOne of my favorite parts of the run was running up the hill towards the Bunker Hill Monument.  We could see the monument from the street below down a long and steep incline.  One of the tour guides was going to count to three and have us race up the hill.  At three I resumed my Nike app and then took off.  I was doing great at first and then about halfway I regretted my decision to take off so fast.  From the bottom the hill looked a lot shorter than it actually was.  It felt like it went on forever!  Needless to say, I did not win the race but I think I did pretty good with an 8:16 pace up a steep hill.  When we all got to the top we took another group photo in front of the monument.  Then we were told that this wasn’t even Bunker Hill!  Bunker Hill was the hill next to it and when they built the fort all those years ago they built it on the wrong hill.  We were actually on Breed’s Hill and the official battle was called the Battle of Bunker hill on Breed’s hill.

After we left the monument we had one more stop to make:  The USS Constitution.  This ship was huge!  It was actually on dry land because they were cleaning it, something that they do every 20 years.  We didn’t go inside, but they do offer tours.  Next it was time for our free drink!  There was a $40 registration fee for the tour so a drink, a t-shirt and a ferry ride were included.  We went into a market and were allowed to select any drink that we wanted; I chose a chocolate milk. Nothing like a nice cold chocolate milk after a run.  Once outside of the market we received our shirts, then off to the ferry!

11875237_931293903575321_6216158588696403696_oThe whole tour was a 5k and then we took a ferry across the Harbor and back to Boston.  It was a nice ride.  We all went to the top and I stood the whole time taking pictures.  We had one more group photo, and then some individual pictures and then it was time to disembark.  We shook the tour guides’ hands and thanked them and then went on our separate ways.  I stopped by Faneuil Hall and Quincy Market on the way back; I just love shopping!  After that I made my way home through the Common and the Public Gardens.  My whole trip today was about eight miles.  Running the Freedom Trail was an amazing and fun experience, and if you are ever in Boston you should check it out!

wpid-20150823_102106-1.jpg

8 thoughts on “The Freedom Trail Run

  1. I saw the trail when I was there for the marathon a few years ago and I was tempted to follow it. I should have. Maybe if I ever get back there I will have to explore a little more.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It was so nice to have tour guides. When we did the trail on our own there was so much we missed. And the running tour takes a lot less time than the walking ones!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. How cool!! I wish I’d thought to look into something like this when I was there in June. I’d wanted to run the Freedom Trail, but I knew I wanted to see everything too, so I ended up just doing a walking tour myself. It was a great walk, but this would have been perfect! I didn’t know that it wasn’t really Bunker Hill!

    Liked by 1 person

    • You should definitely try it if you go back to Boston! I was more tired when I walked it then when I ran it. Though when I walked it I went all the way to the top of the Bunker Hill monument. That was tough and a little claustrophobic.

      Like

Leave a Reply

