Home » Training » OUC Half Training – W1D2 – Distance 5 miles

OUC Half Training – W1D2 – Distance 5 miles

Today was my first speed workout of the new training program.  Speed days are usually days that I dread so I don’t always get up early for them, like today.  I can afford to do that because I do all of my speed workouts in the community gym on the treadmill so I don’t need to beat the heat.  When I arrived in the gym there was no one there, which is very good because there is only one treadmill that I can use.  The other two overheat very easily and the complex seems to think that is normal.

The workout for today called for 5 miles.  The first mile was supposed to be run at an easy, comfortable pace for a warm up.  I ran it at about a 10 minute per mile pace, which felt much faster than it does running outside.  I felt pretty good during the warm up, but was a little afraid of what was to come because I hadn’t worked on my speed in a while.  The next three miles were a fartlek workout.  I ran three minutes at a fast pace and then two minutes at a slower pace for the entire three miles.  The faster pace ranged from 7:30 to 8:00 and then went all the way to 6:57 at the end of the three miles.  My easy pace ranged from 9:30-9:00.  The last mile was supposed to be a cool down, but I ran it a little faster than a cool down pace because I was ready to get off the treadmill, I still had energy left to run fast, and the walk back to the condo would do for a cool down.   So I ended up starting at about a 9:30 pace and gradually increasing the speed the entire mile.

The run felt great and I am really glad that I was able to start running at those faster paces without a problem.  The entire five miles took 43:16 to run which is great considering that the first mile alone took about ten minutes. On my way to the gym there was a nice breeze; the first hint of Fall!  It felt really nice so I can’t wait to run outside tomorrow morning!

Leave a Reply

