Home » Training » OUC Half Training – W1D6 – Distance 8 miles

OUC Half Training – W1D6 – Distance 8 miles

Today was my first long run of the new plan and I couldn’t have asked for better weather!  Just like yesterday it was cloudy and about 75 degrees.  The eight miles were supposed to be run at an easy pace, which I did.  I ran around the neighborhood and into the park and back for a total of 8.31 miles.  I started in the 9:30 pace range for the first half of the run and ended with mile eight being my fastest at 8:55.  The park was so beautiful, though I was looking out for the King Cobra that escaped in central Florida about a month ago.  Good news:  no snakes!  I stopped about four times in the park to drink water and take pictures. Here are a few photos from my long run:

Lake in the park

Lake at the end of the park

The end of the trail in the park

The end of the trail in the park; this is the most peaceful area

Over Half way done!

Over Half way done!

I finished the run in 1:17:39 giving me an average pace of 9:20.  I felt great until a little after the run when I felt kind of sick.  I believe it was due to running too late without any food in my stomach.  I really need to work on my nutrition before and during my runs.  I’m glad tomorrow is a rest day!

4 thoughts on “OUC Half Training – W1D6 – Distance 8 miles

    • That’s that park near my place that we met you at one time. Where we played with a baseball and on that playground. The trail goes around the perimeter of the whole park. Lots of Shade! Next time you visit we can walk there. The whole Trail is about 2 miles.

      Like

Leave a Reply

