Home » Training » OUC Half Training – W3D15 – Distance 5 miles

OUC Half Training – W3D15 – Distance 5 miles

Today I was supposed to run 5 miles; the first four at an easy, comfortable pace and the last mile at a faster pace.  I had forgotten to read what I was supposed to do during those five miles and initially planned on running all of them at an easy pace.  It wasn’t until about mile three that I realized that since yesterday was an off day I might have to run the last mile faster.  I did run mile five faster, but not as fast as I usually run those last miles.  The run felt great even though it was really hot outside.  The entire run of 5.13 miles took 48:50 giving me an average pace of 9:30 which isn’t bad for my training runs.  Now for the tough day tomorrow:  speed day.

2 thoughts on “OUC Half Training – W3D15 – Distance 5 miles

    • Thanks! My speed workouts alternate. One week I will do a progression run like today where I run a couple mile warm up, run 3 miles increasing the speed as I go and then a cool down. Another week like last week I will run a fartlek where I run fast for so many minutes and then slow for so many minutes. Those also have a warm up and cool down. I do all my speed workout on the treadmill until I get a gps watch that can tell me my intervals. I ready need to do hill work.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

