Home » Training » OUC Half Training – W3D16 – Distance 7 miles

OUC Half Training – W3D16 – Distance 7 miles

Today was my speed day and like expected it was pretty tough.  A lot of my dreading speed workouts has to do with my confidence.  My mind plays tricks on me and I believe that I won’t be able to complete the workout.  This afternoon I headed to the gym to begin my workout.  The plan said to do a progression run.  The first three miles were run at an easy pace with the next three increasing speed as I went.  After that I did a one mile cool-down.  The first three warm up miles were really hard.  I actually increased those as I went a bit because I was so bored.  Usually playing with the speed makes the treadmill workouts bearable.  By the time I started the three progression miles my pace was at about 9:30 and I kept increasing it every lap until I was at 7:30.  This made the last mile really difficult.  I was so glad when the cool-down started though that got a little boring as well.  I ended up increasing that speed a little bit throughout the mile.  The entire 7 miles took 1:04:00 giving me an average pace of 9:08.  I can’t wait to run outside tomorrow!

2 thoughts on “OUC Half Training – W3D16 – Distance 7 miles

Leave a Reply

