Home » Training » OUC Half Training – W4D25 – Distance 5 miles

OUC Half Training – W4D25 – Distance 5 miles

Today was an easy five mile run.  I felt pretty good and completed it with a 9:22 pace which is what I have been aiming for in my training runs.  My goal is to run a min faster per mile during the race, which I think is doable.  In less than two months I will be running in my first half marathon!  I am excited and very nervous about it.  I will be disappointed in myself if I don’t try my best.  I feel the only way that will happen is if my mind overtakes my body and succumbs to the pain.  Racing is really a mental battle.  All the hard work and preparation will be done during my training and during the race I will have to overcome my mind telling me to quit or slow down.  This happened at the Enchanted 10k earlier this year.  There was a point at about mile four or five where my mind was telling me to slow down, but I was able to push through and finish the race strong.  This time my training is a lot better so I should be better prepared come race day!

2 thoughts on “OUC Half Training – W4D25 – Distance 5 miles

Leave a Reply

