Home » Training » OUC Half Training – W7D44 – Distance 9 Miles

OUC Half Training – W7D44 – Distance 9 Miles

Today I awoke with a really bad headache. Usually if I have a headache it doesn’t go away until I fall asleep again. Unfortunately, I couldn’t do that because I had a nine mile speed workout to get in today. Sometimes when I workout with a headache, the headache is gone by the time I am finished, so with a little hesitation I got out of bed and got ready for my run.

As I left, the cool air felt great on my head; it was about 42 degrees outside. The first three miles were supposed to be a warm-up so I decided to run around the Public Gardens and The Common and then run to the gym for the speed part of the workout. This was a great way to breakup the workout so the treadmill part didn’t seem so monotonous. Instead of eight miles on the treadmill I only had to run 5.5 after a nice, cool run around Boston. The run also wasn’t as long because I tend to run faster outside than on the treadmill. During my outside run I stopped multiple times to take pictures of the scenery with my phone. Here are a few pictures I took, though the camera doesn’t do them justice:

wpid-20151026_072902.jpg

wpid-20151026_072314.jpgwpid-20151026_072319.jpgwpid-20151026_072539.jpg

The gym part of the workout was a five mile progression run. I started at about a 9:52 pace per mile and steadily increased the pace until I hit 7:30 per mile. The last two miles were pretty difficult, but I was extremely proud of myself that I was able to complete it, especially with a headache. After the progression ended, I did a half mile cool-down, stretched, and then ran a half mile home to complete my nine miles for the day. The entire 9.07 miles took 1:22:55 averaging a 9:08 pace per mile. By the time I made it home my headache was almost gone. I guess all I needed was a nice run in the cold!

2 thoughts on “OUC Half Training – W7D44 – Distance 9 Miles

  1. Good Morning Robyn! I’m sorry about your headache, but very happy you ran away from it! Those pictures are marvelous! I want to move to BOSTON..yummm lobster, beautiful architecture, and that river view! WOW… Good luck. Love you, Linda

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

