Home » Training » OUC Half Training – W8D51 – Distance 8 Miles

OUC Half Training – W8D51 – Distance 8 Miles

Another Monday, another speed workout. I ran to the gym after I got ready and made my way towards my usual treadmill. I had a pretty good time on the way there; 8:26 pace per mile! I tried to stop my run and that was when my Nike app failed me. Well, it was probably due to that fact that I was underground without gps signal, but I was pretty mad at the app at the time because it wouldn’t save my run there. I finally decided to stop messing with it until left and had to run back home. It turned out that the run did save after all.

My training plan called for an interval run; three quarters of a mile fast and then a quarter of a mile slow, after a warm up mile of course. The fast parts did seem difficult, but I just kept thinking to myself, “there are only six of these, now there are five more…” until the interval section had ended. I feel like my training is improving and I can’t believe that there are less than five weeks until the race! After the intervals I ran a half a mile cool down and then ran home for a total of 8.2 miles. The entire run took me 1:12:12 giving me an average pace of 8:48! Today was one of those days when I don’t know how I even got the energy to get out of bed, but I am so proud of myself for doing it!

Leave a Reply

