Home » Training » OUC Half Training – W9D57 – Distance 5 Miles

OUC Half Training – W9D57 – Distance 5 Miles

Over the weekend I worked at the Wine and Dine half Marathon, so when I got back to Boston I was exhausted.  I will write more about my Wine and Dine experience in another post.  I left EPCOT about 2:30 in the morning, got about an hour and a half of sleep, and then left for the airport for my return trip to Boston.  I slept a little on the plane, but not much due to a lot of screaming kids.  My training plan for Sunday called for a five mile run with the last mile being at a faster pace.  I wasn’t about to let a lack of sleep stop me from continuing my training.  I decided to run at the gym in case I was too tired and I needed to stop in the middle of it to take a break.  It is also sometimes easier to complete a run that seems hard if I watch TV while doing it and the gym treadmills are all equipped with TVs.  I started watching Night at the Museum as I ran four miles on the treadmill.

Those were some very difficult miles.  Looking back I have no idea how I finished them.  After I did four miles on the treadmill I ran back home.  My legs were very sore at that point and I couldn’t wait to begin my stretching so I could shower and get some much needed rest.  I completed the entire 5.11 miles in 47:20.

Leave a Reply

