Home » Training » OUC Half Training – W9D62 – Distance 14 Miles

OUC Half Training – W9D62 – Distance 14 Miles

wpid-20151113_080721.jpgI woke up this morning just as the sun started to rise.  The temperature wasn’t too cold; a nice 50 degrees!  I only got about six hours of sleep during the night, but I was feeling pretty good and ready for my long run.  My training plan called for an easy fourteen mile run: my last fourteen mile run.  The first three miles, like usual, were some of my slowest and I was okay with that.  It is really good for your training to run a lot of slow miles to improve your aerobic capacity and that is what I did today.  For my fourteen mile route I ran two loops around the Charles River, Boston Common, and the Public Gardens.  I really like that the mileage adds up so perfectly and I don’t have to make up much distance after the loops are completed.  It makes time seem to go by faster when I know exactly where I have to run.  I don’t think about the distance and just run while my mind wonders and before I know it I completed a lap!

wpid-20151113_065807-1.jpgWhen I made it to the Common on the first lap they were putting up Christmas lights in the trees!  I have never been here during Christmas time, so I hope that they finish the decorating before I leave next week.  I decided to carry a water bottle today because of the lack of working water fountains last week.  For some reason I started getting really thirsty at mile four. Right after I turned around at mile seven to complete the loop in the opposite direction, I finished my water.  I was then forced to use the water fountains wisely.  Luckily there was a working fountain right near the bridge that I take to the Common, so before I went there for the second go around and when I got back to the river, I was able to hydrate.  I also chose that spot at about mile nine to open my energy gel which was chocolate again!

I was in such a hurry to finish the run that I started subconsciously speeding up.  For some strange reason my legs started to feel sore around mile seven.  Usually that happens later in the run.  Then my left foot started to feel sore.  For a brief moment I thought that my tendinitis from earlier in the year had come back, but fortunately, it didn’t hurt the rest of the day.  I’m hoping the soreness was just because I need a little break and not a serious problem.  With the race three weeks away I can’t afford to get injured.  I still can’t believe that I only have three weeks left until my first half marathon!!  Okay, now I am freaking out.

I finished the run strong with a time of 2:11:48 giving me an average pace of 9:23.  Tomorrow is a rest day and I couldn’t be happier about that.  After not getting much sleep last weekend because of Wine and Dine and today’s long run, I am in much need of a rest day.

Leave a Reply

