Home » Training » OUC Half Training – W11D76 – Distance 8 Miles

OUC Half Training – W11D76 – Distance 8 Miles

20151127_162226.jpgI am still in Ocala for Thanksgiving, so for today’s eight mile run I wanted to go to the trails that are not far from my parents’ house.  I thought that they could give me a head start while I run over there and they could drive there and start their walk.  The plan was for us to finish at about the same time and ride home together.

This morning we had gotten up at 5:30 to go black Friday shopping.   It is a tradition for my Mom and I to go every year and then go out to eat before we head home.  Since my Dad is retired now, he was able to join up this year.  It wasn’t too busy, I’m guessing because most of the stores were opened yesterday, on Thanksgiving.  I did find a really nice running shirt that I wore on my run today at Marshalls.  If you have been reading my blog for a while you know that I love Marshalls.  They have the best deals on running clothes.  When we got home I rested and took a little nap before my run.  At about 4:00 I headed out.

20151127_163615.jpg

3 mile mark on the 5k trail

The run to the trails took a little over two miles.  It was nice out despite being in the upper 70s.  I tried to run on the sidewalks whenever there were some, and luckily they were mostly in the shade.  I felt great and ran at a faster pace than I probably should have; the first three miles were supposed to be done at an easy, conservative pace.  During the third mile I waved at my parents as I passed them on the path.

The next four miles were to be run at a progression.  Surprisingly, I did just that!  It is very hard for me to judge my pace that well without a gps watch, but I seemed to do pretty good because each mile got a little faster with the seventh mile being at an 8:24 pace per mile.  The eighth mile was supposed to be a cool down, but the sun was going down and I didn’t want to be caught in the woods after dark, so I hastily made my way back to the parking lot.  When I got there my parents were waiting in the car.  I still had about a tenth of a mile to go, so I waved at them as I passed and then backtracked to the car.  I arrived to the car at exactly eight miles in 1:11:42. I grabbed my water that they had for me in a cooler and we headed home.

20151127_164030.jpg

Finish line for the 5k trail.  They hold races here.

Leave a Reply

