Home » Running » Running Vision

Running Vision

I can’t run for a week and it is killing me! Last Wednesday I underwent LASIK eye surgery and I am not allowed to get sweat in my eyes for a week while my eyes are healing. This will be the longest that I have gone without running since I started, but it will all be worth it in the end.

As long as I can remember I have not been able to see as well as I would have liked and it has been getting worse and worse as time goes by.  I could barely see out of my right eye and my once good left eye has been declining as well. The thought of LASIK surgery had crossed my mind, but I was always scared at the thought of anything going near my eyes.  I couldn’t even have someone put drops in without a struggle!  At the last Track Shack race I worked at, a representative from Hunter Vision noticed the trouble I was having with my glasses in the heat and humidity and tracked me down to tell me about LASIK surgery and he set me up with a free consultation.  I didn’t think it would lead to anything, but it was free so I decided to go and hear what they had to say.  It turned out that I was a candidate for the procedure and I honestly started thinking that it could become a possibility.  After a lot of research and discussions with my family I decided to go for it.

20160704_051449.jpg

The surgery went great!  It was one of the weirdest experiences ever, but totally painless and easy!  It has now been a week since then and I couldn’t be happier!  For the first time ever I can see clearly and I never have to bother with glasses again.  I keep thinking about all the things I will be able to see now and how great running will be with my new vision.  It seems like small things but I will now be able to see the starting line stage at Disney races or finish line clocks as I approach.  I never run with my glasses on, so I know that there is so much that I am missing on my runs.  I will be able to see the world in a new way and I can’t wait!

20160720_165449.jpg

Leave a Reply

