Home » runDisney » 2017 Walt Disney World Half Marathon

2017 Walt Disney World Half Marathon

On the evening of January 6th I was finishing up getting my racing gear ready for the next morning.  My mom helped me attach my new bib magnets to my running shirt and I piled everything together so I wouldn’t forget anything in the early morning.  The forecast for the morning was supposed to be rain and I was a bit worried because I had never raced in the rain before.

I sat down to check Facebook to see if there were any updates about the race maybe being delayed and that’s when I saw it:  all races scheduled for Saturday, the 7th had been cancelled.  I was heartbroken and suddenly couldn’t stop crying.  All that training and preparation for nothing?  I had been really sick since Christmas and only took off three days in a row at the most because I had a race coming up.  Disney had never cancelled a race before, so I was mostly in shock.

As it turned out Track Shack and runDisney made the right call.  Those would have been dangerous conditions to set up the race in and horrible weather to run in.  They also came up with a lot of different options to receive a refund.  Runners could decide to run the marathon the next day, defer to another race within two years, receive the amount of the race in a Disney gift card, or receive two one day park hopper tickets.  I chose the deferment option and am hoping to get in the Dark Side half so I can truly run the Coast to Coast and earn my medal.

Saturday morning after the worst of the storm had passed a wonderful thing happened; runners came together and ran the half on their own all over Disney property.  We went to breakfast like planned at Old Key West and passed multiple groups of runners completing the half marathon distance in the rain.  At Downtown Disney there was even a water stop provided by Fit 2 Run employees out front of their store.  It really showed the perseverance of the running community.

Sunday morning I got up at 1:45 am and drove to Epcot to work my shift at the marathon.  It was the coldest day of the season and I couldn’t wait for it to be over.  I was working in the corrals and after a while I couldn’t feel my feet and my whole body was in pain.  At 6:15 I was finally able to move my corral forward and by 7:30 I was leaving Epcot in my car with the heater on and not without my half medal.  It took me a while to thaw out and then I headed to Animal Kingdom with my parents.  It wasn’t until we were about to leave the park that it finally started to warm up a bit.

On the following Tuesday I decided to run my half to earn my medal.  I ran around my neighborhood and through my favorite park twice to make up the 13.1 miles.  I stopped quite a bit for water stops, but maintained a competitive pace while running.  I ended up finishing in 1:55:48 and felt sore later in the day.  I was proud of myself for getting out there and completing the miles and  hope I am able to have a great race on Sunday for my first race at Disneyland!

Leave a Reply

